UPDATE 3 – Nikon, where is my D7000?

Nikon D7000 Digital SLR Camera with AF-S DX 18...

Nikon D7000 Digital SLR Camera with AF-S DX 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens (2010) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Update 3 – 6/14/2012

Well, I got my d7000 back today!   Repair paperwork states, RPL SQ BASE PLATE, ADJ AUTO FOCUS OPERATION, CLN CCD, GENERAL CHECK & CLEAN.  I immediately took some shots of the blue sky at f/22 and brought them in to check at a high zoom.  No spots.  So, we will see.  I never received any communications from Nikon.   No email about it being completed or shipping.  The paperwork does not address my senor scratch concerns but as I mentioned yesterday I was told it was checked.

I have to say, I am not impressed with their customer service.  Customer service just seems to be one of those areas that most businesses manage poorly.   It is a shame.

Update to the Update – 6/13/2012

Still no word from Nikon, so I called yesterday after looking at the website and seeing the status was “BILL.”  Again, I asked what was fixed and this time I was told – sensor cleaning, back focus, and a mirror related part.  I asked about the scratched sensor and was told that it was checked by the tech and q&a and there was not a problem.  Hmm, OK.  As of this morning my D7000  has shipped and I should get it in the next day or two.  I really hope they have addressed all the issues so I can get back to work.  I feel REALLY behind on so many projects: school, stock related,  and personal.

UPDATE – 6/11/2012

Still no communications from Nikon, however as of this morning my camera status has changed from PARTS HOLD to IN SHOP!  So, either the part(s) came in, or they are tired of hearing me bitch and are fixing it with parts on hand.  Still no idea what they are fixing.  I just hope when I get it back it is really fixed, otherwise I am shipping it back again.

——

Sorry, but this is a rant.

I purchased a refurbished Nikon D7000 (@NikonDotCom) in January and started classes @NYIP.  While shooting at high f-stops (small apertures) I noticed spots on my images on the right side.  After TWO cleanings at a local camera shop, I was still getting spots after a few days of shooting in the hot Florida sun.  The shop also informed me that there was a SCRATCH on my sensor but that it should not impact the photos!  Wonderful!  You have cancer but you should be OK.

I have a warranty so I called #Nikon and after reviewing some sample images they told me to ship it back.  I informed them that I need it back ASAP and I was assured it would be a top priority, that was 5/2/2012.  @NikonUSA received it on 5/9/2012.  Since then, I have called twice and written two emails asking about the status and ETA.  I was told two weeks ago that I would be contacted with an ETA.  Nope, none yet.  I called again “status please?  I really need the fixed camera back!”  reply, “It is on a parts hold. ” “Can you tell me what you are fixing?  I reported possible oil from mirror housing (Google D7000 oil spots), scratched sensor, and I wanted the focused checked because I think it has back-focus issues.”  “No, it does not say on the ticket, but we will get back to you with an ETA.”  That was three days ago!

Lucky, NYIP is self-paced and I have been using the time to read, however, I want my camera fixed, correctly,  and back in my hands.

Just to be very clear, I don’t mind the part(s) hold, I understand.  If you don’t have the part, you don’t have it.  Of course, if you had told me this, I would have waited before sending it in for repair!

The lack of communications is what really burns me, it is just very poor customer service. I have asked if they could just replace it with another refurb, or I would pay the difference and purchase a new one.  No reply.

Once I complete school, I plan on shooting semi-professionally and I am really questioning my decision to go with Nikon which makes me sad.  I had really wanted Nikon to impress me with technology and customer service.

