Product Photography using Tilt-Shift Lenses

Deutsch: Ein PC-E Objektiv von Nikon in Tilt-S...

Deutsch: Ein PC-E Objektiv von Nikon in Tilt-Shift Einstellung (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I would love to purchase a Nikkor PC-E Micro lens for product photography, but unless I win the lottery, that ain’t gonna happen.   The more product photography I do the more I realize how much I enjoy it and how profitable it MIGHT be.  That is a MIGHT since I am still focusing (pun intended) on school (@NYIP).  Anyway, while researching the issue of limited DOF in table top product photography, I have read about Focus Stacking in Gimp as well as using tilt-shift lenses.  Both solution can offer sharper images where traditionally DOF has been limited.

This article by Henk van Mierlo on the Nikon Rumors site has me eye-balling the Nikon PB-4 bellows as a possible, affordable, solution.

http://nikonrumors.com/2010/11/27/guest-post-shooting-products-with-nikon-tilt-lenses.aspx/

Leave a Reply

