Vice – I’m Sick of Pretending: I Don’t ‘Get’ Photography

Vice Magazine released an interesting article by Jim Clifton titled “I’m Sick of Pretending: I Don’t ‘Get’ Photography” I read Vice because it is edgy, poignant, deviant, and reminds me of my uncle that let me read Penthouse when I was 12. Cool.

Jim’s article, in my opinion, hits home on many levels. The pompous attitude that photography must fit into a clearly defined set of acceptable variables to be defined as “Good” is simply silly. Yes, silly. What makes once piece worth millions and another “worthless” to all but the photographer and possibility the subject is really driven by numerous variables that change, rearrange, and lose scope with time, social constructs, morals, and the fibers of humanity. Blah Blah… Now I sound pompous. Read the article to the end and ponder Jim’s conclusion, “…I think we can agree to settle on what makes a photo good: expense, death, antipathy, and nepotism.”  Cynical? I believe so, but certainly true in some cases. These are but a few of the infinite number of ever changing variables that drive the aesthetic of man.

Jim, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder” it really is as simply as that…

Leave a Reply

